Sign in to follow this  

2003 rm125 powerband?

Hi

I recently bought my first dirtbike and im having some issues with it? It doesnt feel like its hitting powerband! It revs and screams but no power. i rode my friends kx100 ad dropped the cluth on 3rd and it popped a wheelie but this fu@##g rm won even do it in first. it feels like it boggs down in the low end too! Does anyone have any suggestions? im very new to bikes so if you have any suggestions it would help if you explained it a little more thoroughly.

Thanks

pics of it

http://s1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd433/maks630/

Hi

I recently bought my first dirtbike and im having some issues with it? It doesnt feel like its hitting powerband! It revs and screams but no power. i rode my friends kx100 ad dropped the cluth on 3rd and it popped a wheelie but this fu@##g rm won even do it in first. it feels like it boggs down in the low end too! Does anyone have any suggestions? im very new to bikes so if you have any suggestions it would help if you explained it a little more thoroughly.

Thanks

pics of it

http://s1219.photobucket.com/albums/dd433/maks630/

It most likely needs a freshing up, like piston/rings/wrist-pin/bearing ect.

It would be very advisable since the bike was bought used, also check the air-filter and the intake tract for dirt.

The aluminum covers on the cylinder are the powervalve covers, I would suggest purchasing an shop manual.

They are very thorough and would help you get started.

Maybe sell it and get another 125, I've heard good things about the yz125 so maybe have a look at one

im almost positive its something retarted like the pistons backwards or sumthin dumb like that...Im not gonna sell it because of a little problem.

How would i go about checking if the powervalve is stuck? could that be the problem?

Edited by maks630