Shall I buy this DR 350?

Finally I found a Dr 350 with electric start on sale near home!

The owner says it was bought on 2000, it has 28000 miles and he asks about 1900$.

Now,maybe it was bought on 2000 but from the colours it is a 97 model, am I right?

Second fact and most important, it was used as a rent a bike for tourists in the summer...

So imagine 10 summers ridden by all kind of users, that didn't really care about it..

About the price, I believe I can make him lower it to 1600-1700$.

The bike as you can see from the photos has no extras at all, but I can swap various things from my DR 250,

such us the renthal steering,

the usd front forks,

the arrow exhaust,

the Mikuni TM33 carb

before selling it for about 1000-1200$.

The big question is the engine.. I do not know in what condition will it be?

I haven't had the chance to see the bike live yet, and since I am not a professional mechanic, even when I see it, I will not be able to fully understand it's condition,

apart the basic things..

You see, the fact that it has been used by all kind of people for so many years scares me a lot.

One more thing, from the photos I see it has no kick start lever.. Will I be able to install one, and how difficult is it?

So, what do you people think about this buy? Considering pictures and facts only, what do you think?

The bike will be used for off road riding only, so I will also have to buy new tires with knobbies,

better hand protectors and maybe other staff.

The price I have to say is from the lowest prices you can find here for this bikes..

A good kept one with after-market staff can cost up to 3000$

1511431_0_b.jpg

1511431_1_b.jpg

1511431_2_b.jpg

1511431_3_b.jpg

1511431_5_b.jpg

1511431_6_b.jpg

Hi, I am thinking that is a 96. Here is my 97:

DSCN0022.jpg

I think $1900 is a little high but the bike looks fair. It looks like it needs tires and maybe a chain and general TLC.