Sign in to follow this  

Newbie KX 250 Upgrade Ideas

Newbie here -- landed a 2006 KX-250 recently, and have been having a blast with my 8 year old on his little PW-80 running farm fields and trails.

Bike has a FMF pipe from original owner. I put on new tires, chain and sprocket, but what mods / upgrades should be next?

It has plenty of power for me so most of my ideas would be to add to the longevity of the bike and maybe add just a bit more power.

Also, I'm that guy, like things clean and shiny -- any recommendations for keeping the bike clean, shiny and free of grease? Any tips for power washing so I don't unintentionally fubar the engine or electronics?

Iowa and Nebraska folks, I will do my best to contribute to W2R.

Thanks all, looking forward to responses.

I would buy a twin air or no toil plastic filter cover. So when you go to wash you can put that cover on and wash without the seat and pressure wash out the airbox. Best investment I've ever made, because like you I like my bikes to be clean. No more nasty air box. I've found that after pressure washing, coating engine area and pipe with wd-40 and then blowing it dry with compressed air makes it look really good, and prevents staining and rusting of the pipe. Buy some grip tape to put on the frame rails where your boots go so it doesnt look all haggard from worn paint. As far as pressure washing goes, just use your head. Dont blast it directly into electrical connections, its kind of brainless.

EDIT:

A lot of people use laundry detergent to wash their bikes with good results, I use motowash just because I was given a gallon. Motowash, then detergent, then Simple green, in that order with motowash being the better of the 3, detergent second, and simple green third. They all do a pretty good job.