Sign in to follow this  

TE310 from an XR400

Just sold my XR400 and have been looking at the 310. Want the e-start but also want something that will move - the XR had some grunt. Anyone make the switch? What will be my trade-off's? I am a beginner dirt rider and not real crazy - plus I am old. Do a long trip every year - Moab as an example - otherwise limited dirt use and some street. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Just sold my XR400 and have been looking at the 310. Want the e-start but also want something that will move - the XR had some grunt. Anyone make the switch? What will be my trade-off's? I am a beginner dirt rider and not real crazy - plus I am old. Do a long trip every year - Moab as an example - otherwise limited dirt use and some street. Any thoughts are appreciated.

What year 310?

you might not get the eazy start you want alota bikes get hot and the electric start wont work till bike cool i no this much

I can pick up a 10 or 11. A few good deals in the area.

I just bought a 2010 and took it out this weekend. I was riding a drz400 before. Here is a few things I have learned about this bike. With stock gearing you will not want to take this thing on many highway rides(not geared for it), very little low end torque but once you start to rev it, the fun starts. If you dont like to rev,clutch or ride aggressive on your bikes then maybe not a good choice.

I can pick up a 10 or 11. A few good deals in the area.

Either year will be superior to your XR in everyway. The 11 is faster,stronger and lighter than the 10 and more expensive. It is more race oriented. You would be very happy with the 10.

you might not get the eazy start you want alota bikes get hot and the electric start wont work till bike cool i no this much

What are you riding??? 89 CR125??!?!?!?! LOL.

Not to take away from the Husky, but have you thought about a 530 EXCR?