Sign in to follow this  

boulder and rock riding

hello everyone was riding today and had to go down two trails that were rock and boulder infested.both times I stalled and lost my balance and the bike fell over. any suggestions when no way around the rocks and is it normal to drop the bike . I'm still new to dirt biking .

Thanks Frank

Hi Frank, what are you riding? I ask because I don't think it's "normal" to dump your bike when you stall out...although I've done my share of that. If your bike is a bit too tall for you, maybe look at a lowering link or shave the seat down some.

As for stalling, I've put a Revloc Dynaring in my '09 WR450, and will never havea bike without one again.:thumbsup:

rocks and boulders are tuff,here in AZ its a staple of our diet on every ride lol,stay on the balls of your feet,keep your grip kinda loose and let the bike float under you,keep your momentum and project your line down the trail,you have to stay loose because the bikes gonna bounce around a bit and you may have to improvise your line a bit,practice is the best medicine

hello everyone was riding today and had to go down two trails that were rock and boulder infested.both times I stalled and lost my balance and the bike fell over. any suggestions when no way around the rocks and is it normal to drop the bike . I'm still new to dirt biking .

Thanks Frank

get a rear trials tire for the boulders

I have a 2007 wr250f and thought about in the future an auto clutch. How do they work? Do you use the clutch handle. I'm 5 10 so the bike is just a bit tall but exceptable.

Thanks frank

stand, stay loose on the bike, keep a finger on the clutch and brake, look ahead, use momentum, stay calm. ... oh and have fun/

I think fixing your stalling problem will help a lot since you will keep your momentum. Are you locking up the rear tire or are you just getting stuck on rocks?

I think I m going to slow and don't grab the clutch handle fast enough.