Bike shuts off when I remove choke. Help please?

Hey guys. I have a TT-R230 and whenever I remove the choke the bike dies :thumbsup:. Im no mechanic but Im guessing the problems somewhere around the carb. Just wondering if anyone knows why this happens. Dirty jets? Choke not working? Any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks

How long has the bike sat? I would try a new pilot jet. Sounds like it may be clogged.

Sounds like it may be clogged.

Yep...

Its was sitting in a shed for the winter time, with the fuel in it. I know that was stupid, but not my fault. I already changed the gas also. Would I have to buy a new pilot jet? Or just clean it?

Its was sitting in a shed for the winter time, with the fuel in it. I know that was stupid, but not my fault. I already changed the gas also. Would I have to buy a new pilot jet? Or just clean it?

Don't bother cleaning it, just buy a new one.

Don't bother cleaning it, just buy a new one.
he's messing with you. I think he means the whole bike, anyway...

if you have enough mechanical knowledge to find the jet, you should have enough to clean the carb... if not, you might want to get someone to help you out a bit and check the bike over for other maintenance items it probably needs.

if you have enough mechanical knowledge to find the jet, you should have enough to clean the carb... if not, you might want to get someone to help you out a bit and check the bike over for other maintenance items it probably needs.

I know where the jet is. But will spraying carb cleaner through it be enough?

Buy a new pilot jet. Do not waste the time trying to clean the old pilot.

I know where the jet is. But will spraying carb cleaner through it be enough?