To torque or not to torque that is that question.

So I am really serious about maintenance. I am not a mechanic but I am learning. I have a couple of torque wrenches, one is good from 20 to 100 ft lbs, the other is this one...good for 20 to 250 inch lbs..

00944593000-1.jpg

I have been using the smaller one to torque down the oil drain bolt. The torque value on this bolt is 8.5 ft lbs or 102 inch lbs. I usually set the wrench to 100 inch lbs and so far have had no problems. The thing is, I read on here somewhere, that you shouldnt torque the drain bolt as it is wet as opposed to a dry bolt. It being wet, would affect the torque value. What are your thoughts on this? Does a bolt being wet really affect how you should tighten it?

As as a rule of thumb I was taught to reduce the torque value on a lubricated or wet bolt by forty percent. I have not applied that to my motorcycle though because I figured that Yamaha factored that into their torque values. I think that rule has more relevance in machining when you create your own threads and bolts and need to decide on your own torque values.

As as a rule of thumb I was taught to reduce the torque value on a lubricated or wet bolt by forty percent. I have not applied that to my motorcycle though because I figured that Yamaha factored that into their torque values. I think that rule has more relevance in machining when you create your own threads and bolts and need to decide on your own torque values.

40%? Dang. I wouldnt have thought to reduce it that much.

So do you use a torque wrench on your drain bolts, or just tighten by feel?

Speaking of tightening a bolt by feel. Is it correct to finger tighten then a quarter turn?

Torque that shit. Read my post called "OIL DRAIN PLUG FELL OUT!"

Torque that shit. Read my post called "OIL DRAIN PLUG FELL OUT!"