Sign in to follow this  

2007 450 XC W Radiator overflow kit?

OK, I'm new to KTMs, but I love my 450! I think I need (I've been told) an overflow reservoir for the radiator. Someone mentioned Hyde Racing.

#1 Do most riders put one on?

#2 What aare the good ones?

Thanks!

I used the Hyde on my 2-stroke and it's too small....Might hold a couple of shots worth of coolant. I use the RLR on the 530 with a CV4 2.0 cap and (switched) radiator fan. Have not been able boil it over yet.

i would only consider one if my bike were puke'n coolant to point when cold that the radiator fins were exposed.

the radiators should only be filled slightly above the fins (~10mm)... :thumbsup: ...any more and it will always puke coolant do to normal expansion. :ride:

...and if i still had a cooling/overheating problem i would add a cooling fan with thermoswitch and a 1.8 bar radiator cap first.

:ride:

Kenzo that thermostatic switch is garbage IMHO. I wired the fan to a switch on the handlebars. Stock caps are 1.8 on 2010 and up I believe.:thumbsup:

+1 on the 1.8 cap and RLR recovery tank.

Ben

Kenzo that thermostatic switch is garbage IMHO. I wired the fan to a switch on the handlebars. Stock caps are 1.8 on 2010 and up I believe.:thumbsup:

the thermoswitch isn't garbage...:D

...maybe just the wrong switching temperature? :banana:

upgraded mine w/ a 91C unit from AutoZone, works perfectly and never had a problem with the battery discharging since. :ride::thumbsup:

...and yes i ordered the 1.8 Bar radiator cap from one of the newer bikes VS the stock 1.6 Bar on the older bikes...i did have to tighten one of my hose clamps to stop a slight leak.

:ride: