Sign in to follow this  

2012 KX450F Ride Report

Ok I picked up my new Kaw 450 last Thursday and was unable to ride it till Sunday. First off at just looking it over the bike looks clean, fresh and extremely skinny. So I started it up to break the bike in. When I first started it the bike barely sounded like it was running. Once it was broke in I got on it a little bit, the bike sounds really good, deep nasty sounding bark. Finally took it too the track and rode it for awhile, this motor is amazing and super strong. It comes off the bottom really nice and smooth all the way up to the middle. Once you get it past the middle the thing starts pulling really hard and the bike revs good. The Suspension I had to mess with it a little. Im a A rider ex pro. I had to stiffen the the front forks up about 4 clicks on the compression and then I couldn't feel it bottom anymore. The forks felt good for stock forks I feel. The rear shock I set the sag at a 104mm of Sag for a starter. Thats what I have always ran in the past so I went from there for a starting point. The backend felt a little stiff at first so I softened the compression up two clicks and went from there. The bike felt really good and satble at speed. I rode it through a rough sand section and aslo some rolling sand whoops and the thing stayed in a straight line and tracked awesome. Over all I'am very impressed with the bike.

How does it corner? I'm looking at a new KX or RMZ450 this fall.

How does it corner? I'm looking at a new KX or RMZ450 this fall.

+1 im thinkin about makin the switch from yellow to green but dont wanna give up the cornering of the suzukis.. does the kx push through ruts or get chopped out down rough straights?

The thing surprisingly turned when I expected it to and never did anything wierd. It stuck and turned. Never pushed once on me.

HMMM, my 11 turns good, better than my 07 RMZ did. I have the stock triple trees. I wonder if I went to a 22mm if it really would be that much better?