Questions before i attempt FCR, MRD and MCCT Installation

Gday everyone,

I have just received my Thumpertalk order containing my FCR39mm kit, woo!! :thumbsup:

I already have a MCCT, Merge APS, 14 and 13 tooth front sprockets (experimenting with gearing a little), MRD/SSW full exhaust system and some unibiker radiator guards ready to go on as well!

But i have a few questions.

I still have the airbox unaltered, I do need to cut the 3x3 hole or else the jetting that is included with my FCR kit won't work correctly right?

And just to confirm, it is a 3inch by 3inch hole, already including the existing hole right?

Just out of curiosity will the bike really run that bad if i don't cut the hole?

Also has anybody installed the Merge APS spring on there FCR? It looks a bit fiddley and the instructions are not to good (im no mechanic) .

And when changing out the front sprocket, any special tools required?

MCCT, looks as simple as unscrew the auto one and screw in the manual one, adjust and leave it alone? Seems so simple on youtube!

Just a little nervous about tearing into all this, i mean my bike only has 300km's on it ( bought it brand new), and just wondering if anybody has some pointers or things they found difficult so i know not to make the same mistakes...

what model is your drz?

the aussie "E" already has a 3x3

no special tools required for the sprocket. big shifter/spanner for the nut and screw driver for the lock washer, oh and pliers for removing the chain.

take your time with the installs, if you dont know a lot it is a perfect oppurtunity to learn

:thumbsup:

Hey man, its a 2011 DRZ400SM!

Just a little nervous about putting all this stuff on, i have heard once i do all of it...my warranty goes out the window!