Sign in to follow this  

front end crooked after wreck?

So a week or so ago I ended up crashin my bike, when i picked it up it felt like it i had bent the handlebars. With the help of some forum members here I was informed that twinwall handlebars are dang near impossible to bend so I just pulled em off the clamps and re-set em and that seemed to straighten everything out. but a few days ago my bro wrecked it again, the bike then started to feel like the front wheel was pointed just slightly right when the bars were straight, i tried re-setting the bars but it didnt work this time, the bars didnt look bent but i figured id swap em out and hope they would fix it but it didnt. Im not a mechanic but the clamps and the triple clamp look good, the forks seem straight, anyone have an idea of what could be wrong?

If every thing is straight you may want to try; Loosening the pinch bolts on the axle, grab the front brake and pump the forks a few times to make sure everything is aligned and tighten the pinch bolts back up. give it a whirl and see if it helps:ride:

I did the same thing over the weekend of the 4th of July. I bent the bars and actually twisted the fork tubes in the clamps slightly. Layed he bike over once I got back to camp and put a pipe on the bent bar, its damn near where it was originally, and loosed the clamps and just re-aligned everything. The bike seems no worse for the wear, my ego on the other hand....

Easiest and least frustrating way to fix is by loosening Everything. Axle, axle pinch, upper and lower trees , and just to convince your self the handle bar pinch.

Then the traditional pull,push,pump,kick combo.

Sit on the bike if it looks straight get off pinch all bolts tight. if not you have a more serious problem, sorry.

Out on the trail I just put the front of the tire against a tree and turn it the opposite direction and bang it back straight. Once I'm back at the truck I loosen and align it the correct way