Sign in to follow this  

Can you drive with your tailgate down in Texas?

Hi guys!! I'll be moving a couple dirtbikes pretty soon in TX but I'm worried about the shortbed in my Ranger, any Texan out there knows if I can drive it with the tailgate down? Thanks!

Heck, here in Mexico I couldn't drive my truck 2 blocks with the tailgate down without being stopped if I don't have any "sign" or red rag hanging from the rear of one of the bikes... Will be doing that in Texas soon, so...

I am not sure if it is legal or not but I do it when transporting my bike.

I have been doing it for many years and have never had a problem here in Houston or elsewhere in the state.

What part of Texas are you headed for?

LOLOL. In NY i've never been hassled about my gate down when having two or more bike sin my bed. WHen I was down in Dallas (we are talking about the state where citizens wanted to basically succeed from the state when the thought of a DWAI was mentioned, and where its legal for a HUMAN BEING OVER the age of 16 to ride in the bed of a truck LOL) you should be A ok there brotha!

I am not sure if it is legal or not but I do it when transporting my bike.

I have been doing it for many years and have never had a problem here in Houston or elsewhere in the state.

What part of Texas are you headed for?

COOL!, in McAllen (close to the border)... But with Mexican plates, hehehe, that'll be interesting right? hehe..

i don't have a problem with the tail gate being down up here in MA and they try to bust you for everything they can up here.

it is also legal for someone over 18 to ride in the bed of a pickup in maine. at least that's what the bicycle cop that pulled me over said. :smashpc:

COOL!, in McAllen (close to the border)... But with Mexican plates, hehehe, that'll be interesting right? hehe..

Take your plates off, throw some shovels and yard tools in with your bikes and you'll be completely immune from law enforcement if you even vaguely look Hispanic.