Sign in to follow this  

oil change

hi there im new to this,

just bought a 1999 dr 350 sex model, wanting to do a oil and filter change on it, it says sae 10/40 on the dip stick but does it matter what kind, what type of oil do people put in theres. im from the uk if this helps

cheers

hi there im new to this,

just bought a 1999 dr 350 sex model, wanting to do a oil and filter change on it, it says sae 10/40 on the dip stick but does it matter what kind, what type of oil do people put in theres. im from the uk if this helps

cheers

Make sure it specifies "motorcycle" oil, or it should meet JASO MA spec. For example, Rotella T6 is labelled as a 5w40 Diesel oil, but it meets JASO MA spec. (Meaning it's safe for wet clutch engines)...you just have to read the fine print on the back sometimes...lol

Hope this helps. Welcome to the forum! :smashpc:

Kevin

Hi, I'm rather new to the DR myself (DR650). I use the Suzuki 4cycle motorcycle engine oil. It's the 10/40 dino oil. As long as it says meets or exceeds JASO MA (not sure what all that means) on the bottle it should be ok to use. I just use what the local bike shop has; probably paying too much, but it says "suzuki" on it and is recommended for my bike. I stay away from synthetic cause I've read it may cause clutch problems; slipping. Don't know for sure, but just for me, the K.I.S.S. principal applies!:smashpc:

Good luck with your DR350!

rc.

Hi, I'm rather new to the DR myself (DR650). I use the Suzuki 4cycle motorcycle engine oil. It's the 10/40 dino oil. As long as it says meets or exceeds JASO MA (not sure what all that means) on the bottle it should be ok to use. I just use what the local bike shop has; probably paying too much, but it says "suzuki" on it and is recommended for my bike. I stay away from synthetic cause I've read it may cause clutch problems; slipping. Don't know for sure, but just for me, the K.I.S.S. principal applies!:smashpc:

Good luck with your DR350!

rc.