Sign in to follow this  

Total beginner question

I am a complete beginner so forgive the silly question.

I am trying to keep from sitting down so much while riding. I can stand comfortably while not under power. It is hard for me to stand while using the trottle. How can I fix this. Thanks so much for your time...

To help grip when leg strength is not there, use the teeth on the pegs to hold your feet. Wedge your feet against the frame and use the peg teeth to hold your foot in place. Foot thru your ankles into your knee's are now holding you on the bike. As you gain strength, speed and skill, reduce your foot hold for faster action to the shifter/brake lever.

At least your thinking about standing, step in the right direction!

You will definately use your legs: do some slow laps standing up around the track (all the berms, etc). Plan on doing it slow!! Make yourself do some laps standing up the whole time each time you go out. It'll keep getting easier. You won't be standing up in the berms when going fast later, but it will help you get better at standing up longer to the berm.

Also, when practicing riding slow and more likely in the parking lot first, barely hold your grips with just two fingers like you're pinching the grips. It'll help you focus on your legs more and help you with balance. I think it helps with aligning your stance better too. You'll be in-between the attack position and the braking position and not have to move around so much to get to either one when you're riding hard on the track.

Your legs will become your most powerful way to ride the bike. Make them your friend and make them work for you. They get easily forgotten when you're thinking about a track and your hands on the bars hanging on. You can point your toes in some to help you get better grip.