Sign in to follow this  

Need some work done - how much to expect to pay

Looking to get some work done on my bike. I'm somewhat new to riding and have no room in my apartment to work on my bike so I'll be taking it to a shop.

I will need: valve adjustment

How much should I expect to pay? Looks like they charge $80-100 an hour around here.

Edited by JN89

I just took my ktm 690 SMR into Precision Motorcycle Service and Repair in Goleta, CA.

• brakes
  • brake fluid
  • clutch fluid ( i have a hydro )
  • thorough flush of the coolant
  • valve check / adjustment
  • chain maintenance ( tighten, clean, lube, inspect)
  • Re-Grease all Wheel Barings
  • Re-Grease Swingarm barings
  • Re-Grease Headtube
  • REASSEMBLE THE HEADLIGHT - i asked him to "just use whatever fits, doesnt need to be oem - just resecure it and get it straightened out" - i went on a dual sport ride, crashed a few times and basically half ripped the highlight assembly off lol

came out under 300 $

if you're around the 805. Tell em "the goon on the ktm 690smr sent me" :smashpc:

i got my valves adjusted, carb cleaned, and rear tube changed for like 280. changing the sprocket, chain, oil, and airfilter isnt that hard and its always nice to know how to do so if you could do that on your own youd probably end up saving some money. as far as price, i have no clue. ive seen people shim valves on youtube in like 15 minutes so if its a decent mechanic it shouldnt cost that much.

find some room to work on your bike. dont pay anyone to do that work for you.

seriously.

just like what knucklehead said do all this on your own. search the forum, look at your manual,look on dirtrider.com or dirtbikemagazine.com for "how to's". you can save all that money for parts you need and what not. go to a friends house so you can work on it.

I agree. Do it yourself. It is not as hard as you think, plus you will feel great knowing that you did it yourself. I dont trust anyone to work on my bikes but me.