Sign in to follow this  

Can you help ease my mind?

I am new to 4 strokes. I picked up a really clean 07 450 and it runs great and starts very easily. I am meticulous with maintenance and will change the oil every ride as well as the air cleaner.

Here's the problem: I always read horror stories in the mx magazines about maintenance and rebuilds and how expensive and unreliable 4 strokes are. What are some real-world experiences with 450s and their reliability? I will only use he bike at mx tracks and I don't really rev that high. Help me sleep better at night or should I go back to a 2 stroke? Thanks.

If you are not extremely fast and abusive, the top end will last as long and in most cases longer than the two strokes. The bottom ends have about the same longevity. If you do what you say you are going to do, that is the way to make it last as long as possible in between rebuilds.

If you are not extremely fast and abusive, the top end will last as long and in most cases longer than the two strokes. The bottom ends have about the same longevity. If you do what you say you are going to do, that is the way to make it last as long as possible in between rebuilds.

Exactly.

Four strokes are only expensive to rebuild if you are abusive (racing) or very neglectful (un-oiled or un- sealed air filter).

Most people don't maintain there two or four strokes properly, and those are the 'horror story' posts you see here on TT, even though they claim they did.

Thanks guys. I will absolutely do the mainteneance, I actually like to do it.

Haha your going to eat those words! Honestly, its going to cost you more than a 2 stoke, but not as much as people say as long as you take very good care of it.

Keith I'm with you. I enjoy cleaning my bike, getting new parts for it, etc. Wrenching for me is relaxing. :smashpc:

i recommend cleaning the scavenge pump screen...do a search and you will find alot of valuable info on the process...