Previous owner jetting!

Bought a 07 with 3600 miles on, now has 5000 and decided to do daves mod

im at 300-1000 feet

Before: FMF exhaust, powerbomb header, uni air filter

jetted 50, 165, needle second clip down

I got 55, 160 and pulled the snorkel, and left the needle as is because i didn't know how it correlated to shims etc

Any suggestions on needle position?

results:

I started playing with the mix, and at around 2 turns it seemed to have the highest idle, but when I cracked the throttle really quickly it might have pinged

i never have heard a ping first person, sounds sorta like someone tapping the back of a tablespoon on the head, is that it?

so i richened the mix a little and turned up the idle a hair and it seems to be better, still hard throttle at low rpm there is a stumble, maybe for one rotation, then it picks up and seems to have more power, lifts the front a little easier

from 75-100% throttle there seems to be no difference in the pull, is that normal?

thanks fellas, im just not used to this carb yet and the signals its telling me

needle second clip down

Does the needle have a selection of grooves in it? If it does, it's not original and there's a good chance it came out of a Dynojet kit. There is likewise a possibility that the slide spring is from the same DJ kit, so you can skip drilling the carb's slide. The jets you picked sound about right. As for pinging, what fuel grade is it getting? What does the spark plug look like? Pinging is one of the most difficult sounds to describe and hearing it in a video doesn't do the actual sound any justice. You just about need to have someone present that knows how to point it out as it happens.

Well shit, I've drilled the holes to 5/32

It seems to run at 65 mph with less throttle than before, but that was only with a little testing