Sign in to follow this  

Swingarm bolt stuck

Can't get the swingarm bolt out. I tried pounding it with a four pound hammer and a drift and still nothing. Am I missing something or are they always a CUNTinuous source of frustration?

When I pulled the swingarm of my 8 year old new to me DRZ a few weeks ago, I graduated up the ladder of hammers in my garage. None of them worked. Nothing dislodged the swingarm pivot bolt, until I finally took out the 4 lb single jack. That finally got it moving.

You might want to lay it over on it's side and pour in some penetrating oil over night and then try again in the morning. If that doesn't work, lay it on the other side and repeat.

You may want to drain the engine oil first. I don't know what this bike does with it's oil when horizontal.

It's soaked in penetrating oil at the moment. I am thinking maybe a portapower or some heat. What is this 4 lb single jack you are talking about?

Buy or build a swing arm bolt press... Makes quick work of a seized swing arm bolt. BTW, it's seized to the steel case inserts,, so what you pounding on is your aluminum engine case.

Here in the DRZ FAQ for the home built idea.

Basic, Special and Home Made tools Just for the DRZ

Erik Marquez

Published by E.Marquez

07-26-2008

Buy or build a swing arm bolt press... Makes quick work of a seized swing arm bolt. BTW, it's seized to the steel case inserts,, so what you pounding on is your aluminum engine case.

Here in the DRZ FAQ for the home built idea.

Basic, Special and Home Made tools Just for the DRZ

Erik Marquez

Published by E.Marquez

07-26-2008