Sign in to follow this  

More top end? Hot Cams, Exhuast, Gearing, Other? 2011

Really lovin my 2011 kx250f, but looking for a little more top end/gears to pull a little longer/better over rev. What would be my best option? Exhuast? Gearing? Hot Cams Stage 2 (friend reccomended) Something Else? (I have no knowledge of any engine mods or what they do) Not looking to spend to much either

The stg2 Hotcams will give you the top end rev you're looking for but you'll lose some grunt from the bottom. I'm running stg1 intake cam and a stg2 exhaust cam for the best of both worlds but mine bike is ported and has a 270BB kit on it but I'm not sure how well that combo would run in a stock bike.

• Angry 1

thanks, ive been looking at a few dynos for stage 2 and im not sure if im willing to drop that much bottom for just a tiny bit of top. I saw another dyno with a yosh rs4 slip on and it seems more impressive in gains/less loss of power down low

here is the hot cams dynos I am refering to

http://i746.photobucket.com/albums/xx105/ossafreak/dyno.jpg

here is the yosh rs-4 dynos

http://www.yoshimura-rd.com/images/product/medium/4432_5_.jpg

Trying to find dyno's for other cam companies, maybe race ingniton.

Anyways can anyone help me out with a list of what order to put in engine mods? What is the starting point in looking for improvement, then whats the next add on I can try in additon to the first and so on.. I do not want to buy something that needs three other things for it to work. Im looking to start as small and cheap as possible and add on from there until I like it

i have been using yosh pipes for a rew years, have one on my 2010. great pipe. i have stage 1 cams in now pulls great. just picked up stage 2 going to try them soon. first mod is a pipe, second cams, third porting. well first on fi would be a remap builders are saying there getting 1hp from it. then the rest.