Sign in to follow this  

My prelim 2012 report

I put about 1 1/2 hours of actual ride time on the bike this weekend. I'm a Vet B mx rider. After thinking about this and comparing it to my '10. By the way, my '10 was bone stock with the exception of stiffer springs front and rear, wider footpegs, twinwall bars and a twin air power flow kit. To me these are 2 completely different motors. And the handling is different somewhat. I'm just gonna list random things and if anybody has any questions I'd be more than happy to answer them.

1. Bike is much quieter than the '10. The '10 has more of a piercing exhaust

sound. I don't like the long '12 muffler and am gonna see about getting a

'10 after market exhaust custom fabricated to fit on the '12. The

mounting holes are different on the subframe. Not sure how that would

change the power delivery.

2. The '12 has a much stronger pull from the bottom than the '10 and pulls

strong on top too. The '12 has a 49T rear sprocket and I had that on my

'10. If you have good traction out of a corner or on a start. The front

will come up. Not sure, but the '10 may be better on starts with less

low end power. We'll find out this coming weekend. I'm actually gonna try

a 48T rear sprocket next saturday. I've never went down a tooth on a

sprocket always up 1. I would actually like it to be a bit smoother on the

bottom and pull the gear a little longer. If MXA says in their test the '12

doesn't have any low end then I really know they are full of it. Of course

I've thought that for a long time anyway lol.

3. Clutch seems to fade more on the '12 than the '10. Not sure why, I'm not

a clutch abuser on the 4 strokes. I used to smoke a clutch on a 125 in

about 2 or 3 hours. I'm gonna order one of the Pro X clutch rods this

week.

4. Suspension feels really good out of the box, but it's new and not broke

in yet. I like my suspension well on the stiff side. I like my rear end to be