Sign in to follow this  

First real dual sport ride for the 'S'... This is why I bought her!

I'm just sad I bought the DRZ so late in the season. I'm in the Bay Area, CA and I chose the DRZ because it's "just barely" big enough to ride to the Sierras (~150 miles away) and a hoot on the forest roads/trails there (*hundreds* of them).

Other than 90 minutes at an offroad park a week ago, this was my first real dirt ride! My buddy was in a bit over his head on his F650GS, but I was having a blast.

I am quite happy with these IRC GP110 tires (granted, I have no experience with others). They are nice on the highways and paved twisties in the area, and aired down they did fine on the forest roads. I wouldn't run them if they were muddy though.

IMG0432-L.jpg

IMG0439-L.jpg

Some videos:

12min, probably the most challenging mile or so of the ride:

A compilation of a bunch of the roads we did... check out the climb @ 6:26:

Awesome. I need to really make it out to the west coast sooner then later

Looks like you had a blast and can ride for days

Very cool! What windscreen is that??

MRC brand. Got it at twistedthrottle.com. Not the prettiest design, but it's functional.

IMG0354-M.jpg

Awesome. I need to really make it out to the west coast sooner then later

Looks like you had a blast and can ride for days

No kidding. Check out this PDF map of forest roads/trails... this is HALF of a ranger district (of which there are four) in just one of the counties in the sierras. Paved roads aren't even on this map (or they are very faint gray lines).

(1.4mb download) http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOCUMENTS/stelprdb5292433.pdf

what gps do you have there?

and what is that control you have on the right side of you handbar?

edit: 3rd question, where did you get that spare gas jug you have strapped on the back

what gps do you have there?

and what is that control you have on the right side of you handbar?