Sign in to follow this  

YZ250F ?? Enough Power to please 190lbs

Looking at 2003 YZ250F for just trail riding and such. I have'nt rode one and was wondering how it would perform with a 190lb. person ? I'm almost 54 years old so keep that in mind. are shoud I pass for a 450 model ? Thanks...

I started on an 02' YZ250F and rode it for about 6 years on all types of trail. It always had plenty of power for me unless I was riding sand. I'm about 180LBS. I still miss riding that bike. I still own it, but it is in pieces right now. I Moved up to a WR450F a few years ago, and I wouldn't trade the WR for anything except the new FI WR!

I am about 210 and my 2001 wr250f gets me around great. I'm still a bit of a rookie but it feels great to me. Being that I'm still learning I can say that the bike can definitely out-perform me........started riding late in life, first dirt bike at 30yr old/young.

I haven't really done much suspension work to it but I'm starting to see how it can be even better once I get better.

Hope this helps.

The 250F has more than enough power for you. I'm 200 and it throws me around. If your going to be using it on just trails you might want to look at the WR250F. It's built for the trails with softer suspension and electric start. You can do all the free mods and it will have just as much power as the YZ

I'm 185lb and I'll be 50 next year. I got a 2008 yz250f a year ago. It had top end problems when I got it, so I put a 290 top end on it. I also softened the suspension and put a flywheel weight on it for racing harescrambles. It has plenty of power for me and I'm sure I would have been happy with it as a 250. My son's crf250x is fine.