Sign in to follow this  

Idle mixture screw

I have mine turned pretty much all the way out, this means I should rejet right? would this be a situation that would call for a leaner or richer jetting? also, which jets need to change? leak down jet? main?

:smashpc:

BAM!!!:

https://thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20356&highlight=jetting+101+the+basics

This helped me out a ton, and I had never jetted before and I got mine nailed using this info.

this one kinda shows the overlap in all the circuits:

http://www.thumperfaq.com/jetting.htm

I studied the shit out of both of these before I started jetting and it made it sooo much easier. I'm still no expert but I have the understanding and I was able to nail the jetting with just a few small tweaks.

uggh. procrastinated all winter, to the point I forgot about the starting issue. went out to start practicing for the upcoming race in april and it wont even start now. so ive heard valve clearances or pilot circuit could be to blame...

it'll start with starting fluid and the battery hooked up to a power source (jumpered to my car) with the throttle cracked just past the point of actual engagement... so im definitely thinking must be pilot circuit. ive played around with idle speed and air mixture screws but nothing allows it to start on it's own. also unplugged the headlight so that the battery won't have extra drain on it while starting.

Edited by Hatchet

uggh. procrastinated all winter, to the point I forgot about the starting issue. went out to start practicing for the upcoming race in april and it wont even start now. so ive heard valve clearances or pilot circuit could be to blame...