Sign in to follow this  

New 450 xc-w or 350 xcf-w

Which one? As dealer will let me ride both since I'm buying new, BUT...really hard to tell in the parking lot if it's worth getting the 450 for that extra power; really like how the 350 is little lighter.

I am not an expert rider, but do know what I'm doing and like mountain riding.

Thus, go with the 450 for that extra power, or will the 350 really be enough?

I'll be dammed if I know man, I'm kinda in the same boat.

Ready to move up from a KLX 300.

If you/I go for the 350 EXC-F, and decide down the road that there Isn't enough grunt, there is a big bore option that will get you to 400cc.

I'll be dammed if I know man, I'm kinda in the same boat.

Ready to move up from a KLX 300.

If you/I go for the 350 EXC-F, and decide down the road that there Isn't enough grunt, there is a big bore option that will get you to 400cc.

Yes you can modify the 350, but at what cost? I rode with a young guy who has a 350 SX-F and he seemed very happy with it. I also read an article in Dirt Rider magazine about the 350. Im not convinced its been proven. The 400 and 450 EXC has, case closed.

In the same boat...going to order one. Keep going back and forth....hmmmmm.....they both have serious power Im sure. For really tight woods???

i bought a 2010 450 sxf and set it up for woods riding its really light but the power is a little much though i would love to buy a 350 i think that would be the way to go

While I understand the issue of weight I would not base your decision on "too much power". It's a 4-stroke. The power delivery is predicable and rolls smooth or rapid - up to you! If you don't want "too much power" then don't apply it.