Sign in to follow this  

Tire mounting ?'s

This may be a silly question but I have to ask, because Im starting to get frustrated. I just got my new tires and guess what, I got the tire on only to find out that I put a hole in my tube durring the install.

Ive been mounting my own tires since I started riding. Every time I get the tire on and go to inflate it I end up with a hole in the tube so I have to run to the shop and grab another one, take the tire back off, install the fresh tube and put the tire back on again. Its not that big of a deal but the $$$ is starting to add up and its alot of wasted time trying to get a fresh tire on the rim when it should be a 20 min job.

I always get it on the second try without putting a hole in it, but why does it never fail that I pop the old one? I dont think Ive ever gotten a new tire on without putting a hole in the first tube.

I always put baby powder in the tire so the tube will move a little easier, I always use the windex trick when getting the bead set. Ive tried different irons/spoons, bead buddies, a little air in the tube to keep it from pinching between the rim and tire etc. and still end up popping the first one. Im at a loss here, and it doesnt make any sense that I should be wasting this many perfectly good tubes and Ive tried everything I can think of. Ive watched youtube vids and followed them to the letter and I still manage to pop one, while they make it look effortless.

Anyone have any tips or tricks that Im missing, or have any ideas why it happens every single time? As often as I change tires you would think I would have it figured out by now.:smashpc:

Any help at all would be much appreciated!

Yes because I check it (reinflate it) before I bother putting it back in... I have to be popping it while Im mounting the tire. No matter how much attention I pay to not pinch the tube between the rim and irons it still ends up with a hole in it.