Sign in to follow this  

Washington Will dunlop/michelin trial tires take road abuse?

I just put a Dunlop D803 on my XR250. First trial tire for me... thing is that I ride to walker valley from Arlington, with about ~10 minutes on hwy 9. sometimes I go to fishhead too or out by Oso.

I have heard a lot of mixed reports about trial tires *beside mt43* holding up on the road. I figure I will fill it to 20-25PSI for the road and it will be okay? I was going to go with the MT43 for the DOT part, but a friend gave me this tire.

I don't plan on any 100 mile trips across the pass or anything, just to get me to the trails

thanks

Chris

The 803 will start flinging knobs in short order with any on-road usage. The MT43 is the best compromise in trials tires I've seen yet (I'm no expert by any means). They hold up to a LOT of different types of riding very well if you watch your pressure.

Your idea of running higher pressure on the road is a good one. I'm running 803s on two bikes and a X11 on another; they all show signs of checking at the base of the lugs (the 803s more so than the X11). One 803 is quit bad but it is a multi year tire and has the most trail and gravel road mileage. I think the extra flexing from the low pressure (4-7psi) causes the checking but it sure bumps up the traction and help to clean mud from the tire.

The 803 and X11 are radials, the MT43 bias. Try the 803, you can always switch to a MT43 if you have problems.

I think your gonna wear that thing out pretty fast on the pavement. Also 20-25 PSI on the trail isnt gonna be the greatest improvement over a knobby. But hey, I've been wrong before.

Thanks for the advice.. I got an MT43_ for when the dunlop bites it. Ill give it a ride or two to see how it goes

I run. 7-10 psi on the trail... I pump them back up when I hit the road... Air down on the trail.