Sign in to follow this  

yz125 to learn?

1. Provide your height, weight and skill level

6', 155lbs, 18 years old. haven't ridden in about 5 years. xr80, rode a few dozen times. i'm almost a complete beginner.

2. Specify your price range if that's a limiting factor

3. Describe the terrain types & conditions the bike will be ridden in.

wide trails and open fields. maybe practice tracks and dunes later on.

Can I learn on a 125 two stroke? I want a two stroke so I can wrench on it myself and because it's cheaper to maintain. I've been reading different forums and it seems about split on people's opinions on learning on a two stroke. Some say it will make you a better rider, other people say it will scare you off bikes. What do you guys think?

deffinatly go a 2 stroke 125 mate best bike to learn on

teach's you everything you need to know throttle to brake to clutch control and body position

dont be afraid of the band caus ethats when you will get hurt

your clutch is your best friend

you will only go as fast as your right wrist flicks and if it gets to much just pull the clutch back in and hit the rear brakes

also practice usieng your front brakes alot so they dont lock up

most of your stopping power is the front brakes

i started out on a yz490 2 stroke and honestly i wish i had started on a 125 2 stroke

the 125 is also better to learn on then a 2 stroke 80

as the 80's have really snappy band and are honestly even harder to ride then a 125

honestly mate if you respect the power a 125 is perfect to start out on

i never died learning on the 490 and its a absolute beast but i respect the power and in return the bike wont hurt me

a 125 is also the best to start on as it teach's you everything you will ever need to know about riding a bike

trust me you wont regret it and mate as i said dont be afraid of the band just so small dose's of it at 1st and get the feel of it and feel when the band is ganna hit