Sign in to follow this  

CR250R 1993' Maintenance

I'm completely new to the whole maintenance thing, If someone could help me out through everything that would be a great help. I'm buying a CR250R 1993' for $1000 AUSD and this is the situation (from what I've been told by him)

He's had the bike for 2 years, the bike was ridden a lot for about a year, and hasn't been ridden since last november. He said the bike hasn't been given a rebuild since he bought it, yet still has good compression (does this mean I don't need to rebuild it? I don't know how to do it myself) The clutch is getting bad and parts on the bike are getting stiff from sitting. The fairing is faded.

What do you guys think by the sounds of it? What do I need to look for when looking at the bike? Whats the first thing I should do once I've bought the bike?

I don't ride very often, maybe 3-4 times a year for maybe 5-10hrs each time so I won't get much use out of the bike.

How do you know if the bike has good compression? Have you put a compression gauge on the motor or just going "by feel". Until you put a gauge in the engine you will not really know if you have good compression.

If the clutch is wearing out I can virtually guarantee that the top end is probably pretty worn and is probably needing a rebuild.

From your description I would say that $1000 AU is probably overpriced looking from a USA point of view.

Like it or not a 1993 CR250 is going to need more work and parts than what you think when you first look at the bike.

I will bet that the rear shock bumper is dry rotted or completely missing the rear shock probably needs a rebuild. When you bounce on the rear suspension is it like a pogo stick or does it have any dampening.

The front forks probably have leaking seals and the forks need at least new fork fluid.