Sign in to follow this  

sprocket suggestions? 480 BB...

hey new to TT, I bought a 2005 SM with a cylinder works 480 big bore and a full FMF power core 4... I did the 3x3 .. gave it a 30 pilot jet (from 22.5) and a 148 main ( from a 134.5).. anyway i wanna change the gearing i get about 95 on the speedo (aka the dream meter).. its effortless to get there, im sure there is more to the little monster than that it has the stock geraing witha 15 tooth on the front and a 41 tooth on the rear. I am new to this so am unsure how to select a good set up for the sprocket size.. if anyone has any input it will be greatly appriciated!

hey new to TT, I bought a 2005 SM with a cylinder works 480 big bore and a full FMF power core 4... I did the 3x3 .. gave it a 30 pilot jet (from 22.5) and a 148 main ( from a 134.5).. anyway i wanna change the gearing i get about 95 on the speedo (aka the dream meter).. its effortless to get there, im sure there is more to the little monster than that it has the stock geraing witha 15 tooth on the front and a 41 tooth on the rear. I am new to this so am unsure how to select a good set up for the sprocket size.. if anyone has any input it will be greatly appriciated!

Cylinder Works 480 big bore??? you sure ??... maybe it's a 434 big bore or 480 stroker/big bore....???

Try a 38 or 39T rear if its feeling short in the gearing...

Cylinder Works does not make a 480cc bigbore, in cylinder alone.

Though Hot Cams / Hot Rods / Cylinder Works (all the same parent company) do make a 4mm stroker crank and 94mm Bigbore… Is that the combo you have?

Huge difference in power available to drive a given gear ration between just the 94mm BB and the 94mm BB and 4mm Stroker crank combo.

If that is a stroker and your feeding it with the stock paperweight....there is a potential for some big power gains....

I am interested to know your setup ...i.e. What carb, cams, valves ,altitude ,etc...