Sign in to follow this  

Trail bike, 180lb rider

I ride trails, and around my property and I recently purchashed a yz250 and it doesn't fit the type of riding that I do at alll. What would be some suggestions for trail riding, power shouldn't be an issue. Nothing crazy though. 👍 I also don't want a lot of maintance considering I have little experience in motorcycles, another reason I'm kicking the yz to the side.

Sounds like your looking for a Honda XR400 or 250. If you could find one that has been properly maintained it would probably last the rest of your riding lifetime. with not much more than regular oil and filter changes. I've been riding my 03 XR400 for 8 years, never had a mechanical problem. And definitely my favorite bike for trail riding.

The best? probably not. lol. But I did alright with a paddle tire keeping up with my buddies on there 250 2strokes and 450 4strokes. That was on the dunes along the coast by Coos Bay, Oregon. Was a ton of fun!

The XR400 would be great for trails, but not so great for dunes...that sand really soaks up alot of power. I just recently sold a 2001 XR 400 to a friend...they are very reliable, low maintenance trail bikes. They are not particularly light and they produce comparable power to most modern 250Fs.

if you ride in sand your gonna wanna keep that yz you have

the yz also has much easier maintenance than pretty much any 4 stroke, even a XR, those have valves that have to be checked too

if you ride in sand your gonna wanna keep that yz you have

the yz also has much easier maintenance than pretty much any 4 stroke, even a XR, those have valves that have to be checked too