Sign in to follow this  

Trail bike / 200 lb guy

Hey all,

I'm having trouble choosing between what would be the best suited trail bike for me. I'm 6'2 & 200 lb's. I have some trail riding experience under my belt. I'm kinda leaning towards a Four stroke of some sort. I'm thinking maybe either a

YZ 250F / 450F / Or / WR 250F / 450F. I hear that the wrs are underpowered compared to the YZ's. I'm going to be riding in the Colorado Rockies. Theres some steep trails up there, so i'd like to get a bike I can just tractor right on up it.

All help will be appriciated, thank you.

WR450, power will be ample for yourself and you have the versatility there as you can ride it on the road as well.

it costs quite a bit more to convert a yz for trail use than it does to just buy a WR or any other purpose built enduro/harescramble bike.

just avoid pre 2004 WR450's (that means avoid 2003 WR450's) they have a bad starter that's rather costly to fix, and causes case damage quite often.

personally if I lived up there, I would look at the ktm/gasgas 300 if I did not have to reget all the time, if I had to rejet a lot, I would pick up a husaberg 390/450/570 or a husqvarna TE449/511

Edited by MegaDeTH

I agree that the WR450 would be a good bike. I would disagree with the starter comment. I own a 2001 WR426. It doesnt have elec start, so Im not sure what that comment means. I dont think they put elec starters on the WR until 2007. I have never heard of the WRs having case damage related to the kick starter either. The only bike I ever owned that had those problems was a Husky TE250 that I bought with a cracked case.