Sign in to follow this  

Mounting X-2 light away from wires

Ever since I got my X-2 headlight, I haven't been happy with the way it interferes with the wiring. I want to build a bracket to move it a little further from the forks and a bit higher so the light beam will not be blocked by a fender mounted bad for a spare tube. I was thinking of making a pair of brackets that bolt on the side of the upper fork clamps under the turn signals, but I was wondering if anyone else has made a bracket along these lines.

The x2 has very flexible rubber straps, it may be hack but the simplest way to do it would be to just shim something between that and the fork tube.

The x2 has very flexible rubber straps, it may be hack but the simplest way to do it would be to just shim something between that and the fork tube.

I am going to mount it two inches higher and two inches further out. It's not that stretchy! It's got to be bombproof. I'll get started on it tomorrow at work. I am a mechanic and a millwright at a mine, so I'll make a nice strong bracket and get some pics up for the next guy who wants to do this. My original light and brackets (as well as my back and arm) were mangled when I took a hard crash in Mexico last winter, so I can't use them.