Sign in to follow this  

Please help me pick a supermoto! :)

I'm new to supermoto. I'm really looking for a street bike, but really like the design of these over cruisers and sport bikes.

I'm 6'4" and 320lbs with a 32" inseam. I figure this puts me in the 500+ CC category. I like lower seat heights but the lack of power on the drz400sm makes me shy from it.

I do not want to convert something to on road use, nor do I want to convert an on road dual-purpose bike to supermoto tires. I want something that has lights and on road tires already. This is a wife-compliant issue as she doesn't want me modding it until I don't like it anymore (like my formerly 500bhp gutted turbo sentra. heh)

Currently these are the search terms I've been using:

supermoto (supermotard doesn't seem to be used here in the south)

KTM (and weeding through all the offroad stuff)

Aprilia

DR650 (in hopes of finding one with SM wheels/tires already)

KLR650 (probably should be off the list?)

Husqvarna

It will be primarily as a short trip, point to point daily rider. I plan to do a little agressive riding if I get comfortable with it, but nothing insane.

1) Any brands I should add to my search list? Any tips? I've been using Craigslist, cycletrader, and ebay to hunt.

2) Any models that would suit me best? I'm not interested in constant maintenance. The 610 has a 3000mi valve adjust schedule and anything more often than that isn't going to fly. Longer is better!

Thanks a ton! I've been enjoying many of the threads here!