Sign in to follow this  

YZ125 2008 woods fork revalving

Hi!

I own a (Euro model) 2008 YZ125 and I am happy with the stock suspension generally except in one area: sharp stones and roots (especially when wet) where the bike has the tendency to deflect. I use the stock springs because I weigh 84 kg with gear and I have removed 20ml of oil from the outer chamber (stock is 335ml, now 315ml). It is not bad but after I drove a KTM EXC125 2012 model and a Husqvarna WR125 2012 during an organised demo ride today I am spoiled and I decided that I have to revalve my forks. The KTM was super plush in wet rocks where the Husky was firmer. I know I can get the YZ forks as good as the others.

I have some reshimming experience from an open chamber Ohlins 46mm fork and I know how to bleed the KYB fork. If the stock YZ fork base valve and midvalve stack is something like this (what I found here about other Yamaha SSS KYB forks) :

32-0.11 x 16

14-0.25 (pivot-base)

Bleed:

11-0.25 x 5

14-0.11

16-0.11

18-0.11

20-0.11

22-0.11

Mid:

20-0-11 x 4

12-0.15

11-0.30 x 2

17-0.30 x 2

Will I make it too soft with the following arrangement?

32-0.11 x 10

12-0.25 (pivot)

Bleed stack the same

Mid:

20-0.11 x 3 (1 out)

12-0.15

11-0.30

17-0.30.

And then to adjust bottoming resistance with oil volume. What do you think? It it too much to remove that many face shims while changing the high speed stack? I want the fork to stay high in the stroke and be more compliant for square edge stones and roots. I think a 2 stage stack is not sufficient.

I will be very thankful for your replies and help.

Leon

Is it too much to remove that many face shims while changing the high speed stack?

I wouldn't change the high speed stack. though you may think less shims there results in less high speed damping - it doesn't. to be correct, it does, but it also has less low speed damping. instead I would only remove face shims.