Sign in to follow this  

Knowledge needed.

I ordered a mcct from TT like six months ago and I'm too nervous to check tdc and valves by myself. My brothers been bogging on helping me out but I really wanna get this thing on there. Ive searched and searched and like most things on here there's many opinions and arguments for every side. My question is can I really put the bike in fifth, push it all the way back, and count on that position being safe enough to swap to mcct? Im doing some maintenance on her today and it would be nice to install.

also...ammy question, is it better to downshift from third to second or can I go from third to first no problem(on motor or breaks)? I always downshift from fourth and fifth of course. Thanks.

You should just go ahead and remove the valve cover and check the lobes. I have no mech experience and it was no problem for me. And trust me, if i can do it, u can too. Just do your homework, don't forget the gasket in the half moons when you put the cover back on.

That being said, i was nervous as hell, but theres a sense of satisfaction to doing it the more labour intensive and safer way. Plus u get more and more comfortable working on it.

I sound like Anthony Robins now. Sorry

Haha. That gives me hope. I do want to accomplish it while checking my valves so that it doesn't seem so foreign to me anymore. But I also just want to throw this mcct on right now. I would be sick if my bike blows up before I get this on and always second guess.

Thank you guys. Thanks for doing the write-ups. But in this instance I have read the write-up numerous times and have searched the subject with many different keywords. I was just hoping someone could come put it in lamens terms for a peon like me instead of a link to something I've read over and over already. I wouldn't start a thread otherwise. But I appreciate it. I guess it's all there I just have to dive in.