Sign in to follow this  

Blood thinning medication.

I had two stents fitted a couple of months ago, and I am now on blood thinning and cholesterol lowering medication. Is it OK to continue riding, my cardiologist said I could do any sport except boxing, is that right? I now bruise very easily.

By "blood thinning" medication do you mean anti-coagulant medication? e.g. Warfrin, Clexane, etc. Common mistake to make, but pretty fundamental difference.

If you are on anti-coags (which I suspect you are seeing as you mentioned easy bruising) the I think it would be foolish for you to ride. I'm not a doctor, but my girlfriend is on Warfrin (maintaining an INR of between 2 and 3 - most would probably be between 1 and 2) and will not even play field hockey because of the fear of internal bleeding. On a motorcycle (especially a dirt bike) you place yourself at significantly higher risk of causing internal bleeding in a fall - and the biggest danger with internal bleeding is that you probably won't know about it till its too late.

Of course, you may never have "an off" and be fine, but if you do have "an off" you would be well advised to get yourself to hospital and be kept under observation till the doctors reckon you're out of the danger-zone.

PS. I am NOT a doctor or healthcare professional.

Plavix and aspirin...you can ride, but just know that if you have a serious injury your blood wont clot very well...and if you have a spleen/liver injury, you may not make it to the hospital.

Thanks for the replies; I am on a daily dosage of:

81mg Ecotrin

75mg Clopidogrel-Winthrop