Sign in to follow this  

Need 50-state plated 4 stroke.

Need something plated from stock: New York resident.

I'm a novice rider, looking to trail ride, both DSing to the trails, linking singletracks with paved roads, and a tiny bit of around town riding for kicks. Maybe some mx practice nights. Will also be trailering/trucking the bike too.

I am 6' and 165 in gear; avid downhill mountain biker used to rocks, roots, hills, etc. I plan to gain the new skills quickly, and will be riding with very advanced riders and possibly entering some local enduros so as to experience trails that are otherwise not accessible.

Don't want to buy something I will outgrow within a year. Looking to spend $4K max, but by the time Spring rolls around I could stretch that a little, unless I end up investing in a trailer too.

Can't afford a recent KTM EXC and don't want one that is older and could have issues. Husaberg, Husky are the same story with even less support.

DRZ seems like old tech and a bit of a pig.

I would buy a WR250R immediately if it had 10 more horsepower stock. It is still at the top of my list... but it is tough to get excited about the bike and am worried that having to keep the revs so high will make learning how to ride East Coast woods tougher than necessary.

Any other bikes out there I'm missing? Very frustrated with the big gap in the market from the Jap makers.

Buy the WR250R and when/ever you gain those excellent skills you spoke about buy yourself a bore-kit for it. They are great bikes. With a pipe and a little work they can be a fun DS.....

Everything is compromise, unless you spend real money. Or pony up and buy a new KTM450

Enjoy,

M

Yep, I will continue to keep an eye out for both low mileage hopped-up WR250Rs and EXCs... I just wish there was some other great plated bike out there that I was missing. A WR450R or a plateable CRF250/450X are just a dream.

Thanks guys.