Sign in to follow this  

Bearing press questions

Wasn't really sure where to post this... but I got a little extra birthday money and I was trying to think of something useful to buy, so I started looking towards tools for my garage.

Of frequent maintenance items on my bike, one that I often end up paying someone to do is all the bearings. I've done the home made clamp and socket etc thing, and sometimes I've pressed bearings in and out successfully, and other times not so much.

Anyhow, was thinking about maybe picking up a press from harbor freight. I'm a novice mechanic... I can rebuild the top end on my 250 and do basic car maint. so I don't really know much about presses. I have seen MX specific tools for bearings, but if I remember correctly, its a different tool for linkage, steering stem etc... for example, RMMC has the motion pro suspension bearing puller, and a swing arm bearing puller but the two together are way more than a normal 12 ton press...

I would like to get something that would work for all the bearings on the bike, as well as other press work (like pressing out the bearing on my jeeps AC compressor clutch that went out the other day).

Anyhow, any thoughts or info would great. If I can't figure it out, maybe I'll just get a parts washer!

Here are some of the presses I was looking at;

http://www.harborfreight.com/garage-shop/shop-presses/12-ton-a-frame-industrial-heavy-duty-floor-shop-press-1667.html

http://www.harborfreight.com/garage-shop/shop-presses/12-ton-shop-press-33497.html

http://www.harborfreight.com/garage-shop/shop-presses/6-ton-a-frame-bench-shop-press-1666.html

Do yourself a favor and NEVER use a press to install bearings on your bike. The housings are both soft and fragile everywhere on a bike and it is way too easy to damage them in a press. Appropriately sized sockets, drifts and drivers behind a hammer are the only way to go.