Sign in to follow this  

Thicker Grips? Call me crazy!

I am one of those that suffer from the arm pump issue. I have been riding for about 10 years and have tried everything in the book which includes technique, breathing, suspension, lots of water, bananas, motrin, stretching, rubbing icy hot on my arms before riding etc.. Some may disagree but certain people are more suspectible to arm pump than others, I am definitely one of them and this arm pump issue has really affected me over the years and has held me back from a lot as far as riding! I tried something last week before going to the track and call me crazy but it worked! I wrapped my grips with socks and taped them lol This is how desperate I am! I figured the thicker the grip, the less I will need to clench my hands around the grip to hold on or twist the throttle, thus less arm pump. I also figured the added cushion from the socks wouldnt hurt. Well it really worked for me and I felt extremely comfortable on the bike with the thicker grips:ride: The main problem I had was the tape (electrical) comming off towards the end of the day, obviously! Is there anywhere that sells thicker grips so I dont have to look ridiculous at the track with my socks and electrical tape:smirk:

Pillowtops? I really like them and have larger hands

Those look better than my standard grip but they dont look too much thicker. I'm talking a little less than the thickness of a 16oz water bottle.

Pro Taper pillow tops are the thickest grips on the market, and I wouldn't have it any other way!.

If the pillowtops are the thickest I will have to give them a try! Thank you

Try the Pro Taper rally grips, i broke my hand a couple years back and those are the only ones i could hold on with. they are the bigest grips i have found.

Pro Taper pillow tops are the thickest grips on the market, and I wouldn't have it any other way!.

Not by any means. Pro Grip has several thicker options and they last longer. Oury also.