VDR Harescrambles suspension setup?

OK, I've done 5 harescrambles at VDR. I have to ask if my bike is bad or is it normal. At the higher speeds it will tank slap and become very harsh in the front. To the point that it hits my wrists so hard on small sharp edges that I almost can't hold on to the bars.

My bike is a 2001 CR250R and I'm 195 lbs and have been going faster every race, I had the suspension done by Racers Edge and he put the right springs in and did some work to the forks to help with the harshness. At the last race I pushed the forks down in the trees by 3 MM with no change to the slapping but it doesn't turn as good.

I know it's old but I have it and it was cheap so is this normal for that bike? TIA, I'm an old roadracer and this is new to me.

Gotta agree with the photo above.

I've been running the same Scotts Damper since 2003 - Just keep moving it from bike to bike. And I'm still running it even on my new 2012 CRF250R because the stock steering damper (at max) doesn't have enough dampening to handle the VDR HS ruts and bumps at speed without head-shaking. Just dial in the amount of control for the conditions and charge!

While a damper helps a lot, if you have extreme head shake your suspension is suspect.

My crf 450 (07) had quite a bit of shake on acceleration bumps. Changing the valving helped tremendously.

Searching the net at the time, it sounds like too much compression damping would cause head shake.

Anyway, you might want to talk with Mark Wright. He is the local rep for Pro Action and he races most of the HS.

Installing the Scott's dampener is a game changer. I installed one about 5 years ago and it made a world of difference. No more head-shake on the high speed sections, and it has saved me a number of times from augering in the front wheel in heavy-powdery dirt. Adjusting the suspension will also help. Go as soft as you can stand on the compression (minimal bottoming-out), and increase the rebound dampening.