Sign in to follow this  

2004 yz250f jetting?

I have a 2004 YZ250F. It used to start right up but now it kind of takes a while:bonk: It starts better with the choke off. When I have the choke on and try to start it, it will almost never start. It takes about 10 kicks to start. I was wondering if this is a jetting problem or something. It would be great if you could give me some advice. Thanks!

I have a 03 yz250f and have been battling starting issues for almost a year. My valves are all dead on. I swapped out all the jets with brand new ones, changed plugs. 10 months later I realized that I moved the needle clip to lean it out and help with the low end bog right around when this issue started. Tonight I hope to throw the clip back to the middle groove.

I'm completely new to carburetors so its a slow learning process, mixed with lots of frustrating days. I know one thing people always say with starting issues is to check valve clearance, and then replace you pilot jet.

What do you think of your yz250f? Have you had a lot of problems with it or do you think it was a good buy?

Needle has nothing to do with starting.

It cant be:

Valves (esp. on a bike with a lot of hours) only if hard starting when cold (room temp)

Clogged pilot, but that would have no idle

Mis-adjusted fuel screw

Stuck hot start

Old spark plug

Wrong starting technique

And thern there is a bunch of obscure items.

Needle has nothing to do with starting.

It cant be:

Valves (esp. on a bike with a lot of hours) only if hard starting when cold (room temp)

Clogged pilot, but that would have no idle

Mis-adjusted fuel screw

Stuck hot start

Old spark plug

Wrong starting technique

And thern there is a bunch of obscure items.

Not what I wanted to hear...

-Valve clearance is good, but yes more difficult when starting cold.

-Checked that the hot start worked properly last night when carb was apart.