Sign in to follow this  

Gold valve/ valving help

ok so i just bought a #2 valve kit on ebay it has shims, piston the whole deal, it also has an installation dvd as well as valving charts

the thing is i didn't realize the piston is for super-cross/motocross and even freestyle, and i am an off-road/mx rider

Can I adjust the shim stack to react better off-road or is this piston way to aggressive, if it is im going to keep the stock piston in there and change up the stack ?

any thoughts on this let me know

im

6'0 170(185 in gear)

springs are going to be changed for my weight

my thought originally was to set the stack up for woods with an aggressive piston for when i go to the track i don't bottom out

and yes i have had my forks apart before .. never for valving but i told my self last time i took them apart that next time i would change out the shims ... the time has come for a rebuild

P.s im also a broke college student so this is why its not going up to new hampshire to see F/C

Best advise sell it! Could have called me I have a coffee can full of these valves that I have taken out from a local hack!

Also you can't have suspension that works for trail and track. Stacks are not even close. lack of Highspeed in the trail setup.

What bike are you riding?

theDogger

yea the gv's are not much different than the stockers. don't know how rt pulled that one off.

yea the gv's are not much different than the stockers. don't know how rt pulled that one off.

No much different? What valves are you looking at?

theDogger:thumbsup:

No much different? What valves are you looking at?

theDogger:thumbsup:

okay, maybe i worded it wrong. i mean there's not an advantage over how well the stockers perform. honestly the stock pistons flow great, and the race tech design wasn't an improvement.