Sign in to follow this  

In need of detailed info on stacks - 02 CRF450R

I have another topic going here , but i am not seeming to get any answers lately , so i figured i would try a new topic , to hopefully get some answers i need , as i am still not happy with my forks , and need to correct the issue

Here is the issue , i am very new to valving , and dont really know what i am looking at when i do what people here have suggested i try , to help me with my harshness issues by removing or adding shims , so here is what i need to know and here is what i am specifically looking for my suspension to feel like , but i need to know what does what and how to make it do something i want it to when i want it to do it *if that makes any sense*

I tried a suggested stack , and i changed springs , neither gave me the results i desired , but it was better , but by no means a solution to my issues

What i want to know ( i will give 2 stack examples , 1 that i currently am using , and one in my Race Tech Instructions , what i want/need to know is if i remove or add a shim in the larger numbers , what does it do as far as what the forks do when you are riding (taking sharp edged hits for example since that is my main issue) , and the same goes for the smaller shims , like a 10x19 or 10x17 , versus a 10x13 or 10x10

In my stack i was told to remove the 10x10 and 10x13 , as well as remove 3*leaving 2* 15x20 , and replacing a 15x20 with a 10x20 , now this is all fine and good if i know exactly what those changes did like affecting the sharp edged hits , or to make the entire stroke feel softer , or only make it soft in the first 1/2 of travel , or whatever , that is where i am at a loss and obviously am not resolving my issue