Sign in to follow this  

06 crf450 probs

hi all

Im trying to get a mates bike going and im having some problems. It was running but now it wont start. I have changed the valve shims and the inlet shims are good but the exhaust shim gaps are still 0.05mm to big. Is that close enough or not?

Also when i put the cam chain tensioner back on the chain still seams quite loose. When fitting the tensioner it is possible to fit it when the tensioner is fully extended which seams odd to me but then im new to this.

It has a spark and fuel

:thumbsup:

Did you install the cam sprocket to ensure all 3 of the markings are lined up properly. Strange for exhaust to be off that much but .05 is outside the tolerances (if i'm remembering correctly it's +/- .03, not sitting here with my manual open though). I'm wondering if you took your measurements at something other than TDC.

When reinstalling the tensioner I always retract it with a small screwdriver and keep it retracted with one hand while tightening the other bolts.

If it's not starting and you didn't get everything lined up to TDC and your cam lobes pointing back and slightly up then the timing sounds off. heck almost sounds like you could be off 180 degrees. The left side engine plug, infront of the cover needs to be removed to ensure you are lined up with the "second" dot to confirm timing is correct (again the other alignment marks need to be in the correct positions). If all three from manual aren't lining up at the same time, bike won't run. if it's line up with the first dot then it is firing on the wrong part of the stroke.

I removed the engine plug on the right side (kickstart side) and lined up the two dots. Also i lined up the the cam sprocket with the arrow and the cam lobes are pointing back and slightly up. Are there any other timing marks i should use?