Sign in to follow this  

A little help...

Hey all, looking to get my first dirtbike after 36 yrs. I've been doing the roadrace thing for several yrs. now but just actually started racing. I've always wanted to play in the dirt but never took that step. I know it's a great tool for practice off the tarmac and could use a little help.

I'm looking primarily at 98-02 125 CR/YZ/RM's... sorry, just not a Kawasaki fan. =) Reason is pretty simple, trying to keep costs down and I am not looking to race mx, more off season training and some fun.

I know these are all high revving peaky critters but are either of them a little more broad in power than others? If one was going to be a little better at general riding or trails which one would it be? Everything tells me they are all fairly equal, but suspenion is also on my mind. Either better in stock form suspension wise? I am 5'7" and 160 lbs. Definately very novice in dirt but some of that time on the track should transfer over to some degree. No dillusions though, I know there will be a fairly decent learning curve involved.

Thanks !

stay away from 01-04 or 5 cr's their motors in those years were supposed to be dogs, rm's well they're rm's and known for their intense power, had a POS 90' 125 and it was as fast as a crf250r.. yz's are better i think from 05 up because they have a six speed? <not to sure about the yz one. you really can't go wrong,i would sugguest though that you should look at ktm's too! if you're doing primarily trails, a 200 or 150 xc exc xcw etc might be just right for you!