Sign in to follow this  

Just picked up a 04 250r. New to crf's any advice?

So I just picked up a 2004 crf250r. I've been riding trails for 6 years and just started getting into motocross. I come from older xr's so the crf is rather foriegn to me. I am 26, female and super new to mx. Any suggestions on upgrades for the 250r that would benifit me? I already checked the valves and that are still with in spec. I don't know the last time the piston was replaced are there any signs I should look for or just replace it for good measure? I will be using the bike for mx only no trails. I have a xr400 for that. Bike already has br1 suspension, tag triples, and chn exhaust. It needs a new chain and sprockets. Should I stick with stock gearing or change it up a bit? The bike already seems pretty darn fast for me so I don't think I will be investing in any hp mods as of yet. Also on the note of maintence the manual says 15 hrs on the oil that seems long what do you guys recommend for a service schedule? Here's a pic as she sits

IMAG0197.jpg