Sign in to follow this  

Please Help: Noobie with some 03 CRF230F Suspension Questions

Well just a little back ground before I ask my questions. I have a bone stock 03 crf230f. Nothing has been done to it. I have been riding it for about 1.5 years and this is my first time on a bike. I have been riding/racing my trx450r for quite awhile. I got a 230 becuase I thought it would be easier to learn how to ride a 2 wheeler and I was right. what a great machine. Well now the suspension and power is not suitable any longer. (please keep in mind that I will never get rid of this bike and move to a 250f) My 230 is for desert riding and very mild track riding. When I want to haul ass and get dirty I will just hop on 450r quad. Below is what I purchased but havent installed yet.

Rider:

195 pounds

5'9 1/2 lol

beginner

Power: Pro Curciut T-4 full exhuast

Honda jet kit

Going to remove air lid and add KN Filter

Suspension: Emig Conversion set for 250 forks - Ready to bolt on!

Questions:

Power:

1. With the full exhuast, jet kit, no lid and filter will I see a good power increase? Or do I have to install like a Hotcam stage2 or something like that?

Suspension:

1. What year CR250 Shocks should I go with? (I will get them redone for my weight)

2. Im looking at a rear shock also. Trying to not spend 800.00 for a rear shock. Any recommendations. Will a stock 250 shock work? or just go used?

Wheels:

1. Will I have to buy a 250 wheel and hub or can I use my 230 wheels and hub.

2. If I do have to go with a 250 wheel and hub, what size do you recommend to make my stock 230 rear wheel?

Thanks in advance for all you help.