Sign in to follow this  

Where to ride on Long Island

I am in college right now and over the summer I helped my parents and brother move cross country from Seattle to Long Island. My family was nice enough to drag my dirt bike, my car and a bunch of my tools and other junk with them. I was leaving this stuff at home until I graduated and decided where I'm going to live.

Since Thanksgiving is coming up and I am going to be home I figured I would try and go riding with my dad and brother. It turns out there aren't any trails to go riding on anywhere near Long Island. In fact they have to drive 3+ hours to Brick New Jersey before they get to any trails.

We all really like trails and although the track is fun its not worth the $1500 a year membership fee ($1500 according to my brother). My brother wants to sell his bike and get a ... jet-ski:bonk: My dad would then sell his bike because he isn't going to go by himself, and this whole time I've been contemplating selling my bike, I could always just get another one when I graduate, its a 16 year old YZ250 nothing too special.

Does anyone on here live on Long Island and where do you go to ride? When I went to the where to ride page I saw that there is private land and tracks on the island, and you have to drive way too far to get to any place with trails. Stupid city, getting in the way of the woods!:busted:

There is a track called LIMX in Yaphank. It is a great facility with a well maintained track. The cost for membership varies if you want to pay as you ride, or annually if you plan on riding a lot. Generally it is $35/day. LIMX.com

There is also a track in Ronkonkoma though I don't know the name. As far as I know it is an annual membership and may be around $1500.00. Sorry, I don't know much about that facility.

There was also a planned facility that was attempting to operate in Riverhead, but they were getting a boatload of grief from the Town.