Sign in to follow this  

drz125 no power

Hey guys. I am new to off road bikes. I recently purchased a 2003 drz125 for me and my 15 y/o brother for cheap. The bike starts right up and idles fine, but has no power at all. I had just rebuilt the carb and had it tuned. The bike will literally go only 10 mph at most in all gears. I know the carb is clean and the bike doesn't burn oil, but do you think it could still be bad rings? I can tell the top end has been off before but I have no idea what was done. I did search but I didn't see any threads with my specific problem. What are some causes of low compression on these motors as well?

That's a new one. Have you checked that when you open the throttle, it is indeed opening the slide the whole way?

Don't go tearing apart the motor just yet, doing so would be a waste of time and money. You may need to, but exploratory surgery is usually a last resort.

How does the bike rev? Does the exhaust sound normal? What kind of exhaust is on it? If it's the stock one, get some allen head wrenches and pop open the can, make sure there isn't a rodent or insect nest inside it.

Is the air box on? Is the air filter clean? If not, clean it/connect the air box.

How far in do you need to pull the clutch to disengage the motor from the transmission?

Tell us everything you know about the bike and if you can, include pictures.

That's a new one. Have you checked that when you open the throttle, it is indeed opening the slide the whole way?

Don't go tearing apart the motor just yet, doing so would be a waste of time and money. You may need to, but exploratory surgery is usually a last resort.

How does the bike rev? Does the exhaust sound normal? What kind of exhaust is on it? If it's the stock one, get some allen head wrenches and pop open the can, make sure there isn't a rodent or insect nest inside it.

Is the air box on? Is the air filter clean? If not, clean it/connect the air box.