Sign in to follow this  

Buying advice for father/son needed

New member...this is a great forum and I appreciate any and all input in to my decisions.

I started riding with my dad when I was around 12 in the late 70s on a YZ80. By about 15 I had moved up through a 250 trials my dad got on the cheap and my uncle's old Maaco 400 to a 78 YZ400...that was a great bike. During the 80's I switched to an IT200 for a while and then an 88 yz250 which I loved.

This was all just trail riding, no racing, I wouldn't call myself an expert but I was pretty good and fast. In the early 90s I was chasing women full time so we sold the bikes.

Now I am 46 and my son is 10 and I want to get us bikes to relive some of the awesome good times I had with my dad growing up. I am 5'9" and about 195 and my son is about 4'8" and about 75 pounds and growing fast.

I am considering a KDX200 or a KTM 200/250/300 EXC for myself if I can find one cheap enough. Unless someone can give me a compelling reason I should get something like a CRF230 or TTR230/250 instead.

For my son I am considering a KTM 65. I haved talked to him about it and he feels that he would prefer to go ahead and learn on a bike with a clutch.

Plus in Kentucky the idiots passed a state law on ORVs that says max engine size under 12 is 70cc and under 16 is 90 so in order to ride at one of my favorite places--Land Between the Lakes state park--he has to have a 70 or below until he is 12 and then can only progress to a 90 until he's 16!

On the other hand I can veto him and get something like a CRF70 and then upgrade him to something like the KTM in a year, or wait a bit longer and move him up to an 85 or something. I haven't ridden a bike made in the last 20 years so I am hoping someone can give me advice...let him start on a 65 motocross bike for trail riding or make him start on something tamer?

thanks in advance for any advice...